Distribution of prizes is the last thing left of the season-2017/18

The season in the NHL is over, and it’s time for the traditional “distribution of elephants” – on the night from Wednesday to Thursday Moscow time in Las Vegas, the ceremony of awarding individual awards of the season will take place.

Winners of voting are determined by the results of the regular season, and only the prize to the most valuable player of the playoffs “Conn Smythe Trophy” is the result of evaluating performances in the Stanley Cup. Several trophies have already found their winners: Alexander Ovechkin won the prize for the best sniper “Maurice Richard Trophy” (49) goals, and Connor McDavid from Edmonton won the second year in a row “Art Ross Trophy”.

Russian hockey players have almost no chance to compete for trophies – the exception is Andrei Vasilevsky, who can become the owner of the most prestigious goalie Vezina.

“Hart Trophy” (the most valuable hockey player of the season)

Applicants: Taylor Hall (New Jersey), Anže Kopitar (Los Angeles), Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado).

26-year-old Hall took sixth place in the list of the top scorers of the season (93 points) and helped the “devils” reach the playoffs for the first time since 2012. The 30-year-old Kopitar stopped by a line below Hall (92) points and also made a very significant contribution to the fact that the “kings” returned to the Stanley Cup after last year’s pass.

In addition to the “Hart” Slovenian also claims to “Selke Trophy” – the prize for the best striker of the defensive plan. MacKinnon – the most productive of this three (97 points), and his 12 winning goals were the best result in the league (together with the forward of “Tampa” Braden Point).

“The Kopitar had the most complete,” packaged “season, so” Hart “should take it. The difference between him and any other hockey player of “Los Angeles” was 31 points, which clearly shows the value of Angers for the “Kings”. Kopitar – leader of the league in the middle game time among the attackers. Mackinnon and Hall also deserve attention, but they are not as universal players as the Kopitar, “said Dan Rosen, a senior columnist for the official NHL website.’

“Vezina Trophy” (the best goalkeeper)

Applicants: Pekka Rinne (Nashville), Connor Hellebuyck (Winnipeg), Andrey Vasilevsky (Tampa Bay).

Hellebuyck and Vasilevsky shared the championship for victories (44), Rinne remained on the third line (42), but was on par with Andrei in the number of matches to zero (8 each). In addition, the role of the Finn in the victory of “Nashville” in the regular season is very high: Pekka took seventh place in the percentage of reflected shots (92.7%) and the fifth – on goals per average for the match (2.31).

Vasilevsky helped “Tampa” to hold the best “regular” in the history of the club (54 wins), while Hellebuyck broke Tom Barraso’s record for victories for American goalkeepers (43).

“Personally, I choose Vasilevsky, who was the most valuable player in” Tampa “and could easily become a finalist of the vote for” Hart Trophy “. Five of his eight “crackers” were scored in matches with the teams that jasilyonk toronto maple leafs vs tampa bay lightning tickets and went into the playoffs, and especially remembered his game with “Boston” on April 13, when 33 Vasilevsky’s saves helped “Lightning” officially win the Atlantic Division, “the observer believes. NHL.com Tom Gulitti. It is worth adding that earlier from the Russians “Vezin” was won only by Sergey Bobrovsky, who has two such trophies.

“Norris Trophy” (the best defender)

Applicants: Drew Doughty (Los Angeles), Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay), Pee Kay Subban (Nashville).

Hedman, who took third place in the vote last year, will now try to become the first. The defender of “Tampa” divided the lead among the defenders in goals (17 goals, as many as Ivan Provorov and Doug Hamilton) and scored “+32” in terms of utility.

Doughty is already nominated for the fourth time on “Norris” – he won the trophy in 2016, and in the past season scored 60 points, spending an average of more than 26 minutes on the ice. Subban set a personal sniper record (16 goals) and may for the second time in his career take the prize to the best defender.

“Ted Lindsay Award” (the best player in the opinion of the association of hockey players)

Applicants: Taylor Hall (New Jersey, Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado), Connor McDavid (Edmonton).\

For many, Ted Lindsay’s trophy means even more than “Hart”, as players here are assessed by their colleagues, voting with their trade union. Three of the finalists are two-thirds in line with the top three voting for the MVP trophy, with the exception of Connor McDavid, who can take this prize for the second year in a row of batyopjank. McDavid is the third “oilman” after Gretzky and Messier, who already won the award, and can become the first to become a two-time winner of “Ted Lindsay” to 22 years.

“Calder Trophy” (the best newcomer)

Applicants: Mathew Barzal (Islanders), Brock Böser (Vancouver), Clayton Keller (Arizona).

The main contender for the prize recruit is Matthew Barzal, who topped the list of the most successful newcomers. Forward “Islanders” scored 85 points, and his separation from the closest pursuer, who became Keller, was 20 points.

“Jack Adams Trophy” (the best coach)

Applicants: Jared Bednar (“Colorado”), Bruce Cassidy (“Boston”), Gerard Gallant (“Vegas”).

With all due respect to Bednar and Cassidy, the miracle that Vegas created last season cannot but be noted by the league. If the prize is not given to a better mentor than Gallan, it will be a blatant injustice.

The best general manager

Applicants: Kevin Cheveldeioff (Winnipeg), George McPhee (Vegas), Steve Yzerman (Tampa Bay).

It is unlikely that someone will be able to take away the prize from George McPhee, who from the refuseniks and no one needed hockey players were able to collect a team-fairy tale.